Game: Mahjong - Here Be Dragons! Discussion about Mahjong.
Please read the Discussion Board Rules before participating in the discussion boards.
Post a new comment                         Expand all messages                         Show all boards                         Subscribe Subscribe

(#5675634) Dragon's breath
Posted by Jools on 21 Mar 2025 at 10:32AM
The board needs to better highlight the dragon spaces on the board when they are covered.
Perhaps simply adding a picture of the board to the rules would help
(#5663324) Re: chows
Posted by LumberJill on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:45AM
this is messed up. it needs to state this in the rules, not the nuggets area. i will have to resign as this late in the game there is likely not another set of 4 available. thank you for answering
(#5663322) Re: chows
Posted by LumberJill on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:40AM
so i went and read the reference you gave and looks like there needs to be a correction and just state no chows allowed, if it takes two . this is messed up. had i known i never would have played the fourth red dragon. the rules need to be changed or add the fact if you meld a chow it will take another to go out. this likely will mess up my status in the tournament. i repeat, the rules need to state this
(#5663320) Re: chows
Posted by eliphont551 on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:36AM
According to the nugget melds must always be one of the following:

3-3-3-3-2,

4-4-3-3

4-4-4-2.


Right now you have 3- 3- 4. You will need a combination of 4 to end the game.

Remember the rules say you do not discard on the last move.

(#5663313) Re: chows
Posted by fatdaddy on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:29AM
You may have limited yourself to playing another kong. I don't think you can play two eyes. Playing another chow leaves you with a discard. You cannot end a round with a discard.
(#5663312) Re: chows
Posted by LumberJill on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:27AM
and it wont go to the complete turn save game either
(#5663310) Re: chows
Posted by LumberJill on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:25AM
but how do i complete my turn. it wont go to the save game
(#5663307) Re: chows
Posted by LumberJill on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:22AM
i have a 2, 3, 4 and 7 of circles. it wont let me play the 2,3, and 4 and discard the 7
(#5663306) Re: chows
Posted by eliphont551 on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:20AM


You do not discard on your last turn. From the rules:


  • However, discarding is not performed if the player has used all his or her tiles with the intention of ending the round - the player is required to use all the tiles in the hand.

I found this Nugget helpful when learning to play Mahjong:

(#5663301) Re: chows
Posted by fatdaddy on 26 Jan 2025 at 5:07AM
In #14571590 with your red dragon kong I see 2 character chows played already. Are you saying that you have a 3rd chow in your hand which cannot be played?
(#5663299) chows
Posted by LumberJill on 26 Jan 2025 at 4:55AM
#14571590 i placed 4 red dragons my first meld but how does that work to go out. i melded my fourth grouping but to discard leaves me zero tiles in hand but it wont let me discard. i dont want to time out. i checked and chows are allowed but now what? please help? anyone? thanks

Post a new comment                         Expand all messages                         Show all boards                         Subscribe Subscribe